Company Logo

Emerging Technologies 2018 Session Listing

The program is subject to change in the weeks leading up to the conference. Check back here for the latest schedule, or follow us on Twitter External link symbol for real-time notice of updates to the program.

We plan to have a firm program available no later than February 5, 2018.

Session C1: Radiation Detection and Imaging

Start Time: 13:30, Wednesday, May 09
Room: TBD
Chaired by Toby Astill, Redlen (Toby.Astill@Redlen.com)

  • Paul Lecoq, CERN-European Organization for Nuclear Research (paul.lecoq@cern.ch)

    A metamaterial approach to reach 10 ps timing resolution with a scintillator-based detector

  • Maurice Garcia-Sciveres, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (mgarcia-sciveres@lbl.gov)

    Challenges of high rate and radiation imaging in particle physics

  • Alex Moiseev, NASA (alexander.a.moiseev@nasa.gov)

    High-energy 3D calorimeter for use in gamma-ray astronomy based on position-sensitive virtual Frisch-Grid CdZnTe detectors

  • Daniela Muenzel, Technische Universität München (muenzel@tum.de)

    Clinical potential of spectral photon-counting computed tomography

  • Jan Dudak, Czech Technical University in Prague (jan.dudak@cvut.cz)

    Sub-micron resolution X-ray imaging using large-area photon counting detector Timepix

  • Speaker to be Confirmed, MARS Research Group, New Zealand (anthony@butler.co.nz)

    Spectral molecular imaging using MARS scanner - in vivo potential

  • COFFEE BREAK (FOYER)

    ***************************************

  • Matthew Veale, Science and Technology Facilities Council (matthew.veale@stfc.ac.uk)

    Hard X-ray and gamma ray imaging — the development of a new generation of sensors at the STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

    The development of the latest generation of light sources is posing challenging requirements for radiation imaging detectors. Facilities such as X-ray Free Electron Lasers (FELs) deliver coherent, ultra-high brilliance, pulses with femtosecond lengths and require detectors with not only a large dynamic range but also an architecture that allows operation at MHz frame rates. Recent advances in the development of laser-driven radiation sources has also led to the establishment of a new class of facilities capable of producing high flux beams of highly-penetrating MeV Gamma-rays that can also contain many other different types of radiation.

     

    Detectors developed for use at existing light sources have relied on silicon sensors, however, this push towards higher energies (>10 keV) means the detection efficiency of silicon will become seriously compromised due to its poor stopping power. To meet the challenges of these high flux and high energy facilities requires the use of a variety of technology options that include compound semiconductors such as Cadmium Zinc Telluride (CdZnTe) and Gallium Arsenide (GaAs) as well as novel scintillator materials coupled to CMOS sensors.

     

    The aim of the STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory’s current detector development programme is to develop a suite of imaging detectors able to operate at these extremes of photon energy and flux. Results will be presented on recent measurements of GaAs:Cr and CdZnTe based detectors at the SLAC LCLS FEL as well as the use of CdTe and scintillator based imaging detectors at laser-driven radiation sources in the UK.

  • Krzysztof (Kris) Iniewski, Redlen (kris.iniewski@redlen.com) with C. Siu

    Readout ASICs for CdTe/CZT sensors: architecture, performance and design characteristics

  • Justin Caram, University of California, Los Angeles (jcaram@chem.ucla.edu)

    Probing new chemistry in the shortwave infrared using superconducting nanowire single photon detectors

  • Yi-Hwa Liu, Yale University (yi-hwa.liu@yale.edu)

    Near-field coded aperture imaging: potential for high-sensitivity and high-resolution SPECT

  • Mokhtar Chmeissani, Institut de Física d’Altes Energies (mokhtar@ifae.es)

  • Mehadi Hassan, Duke University (mehadi.hassan@duke.edu)

  • Ali Kenchaf, ENSTA Bretagne (ali.khenchaf@ensta-bretagne.fr)

  • Alex Stewart, XCounter AB (alex.stewart@xcounter.se)

 

Sponsorship Opportunities

Support from our sponsors allows us to provide additional special events and networking opportunities during our conferences.