Company Logo

Emerging Technologies 2018 Session Listing

The program is subject to change in the weeks leading up to the conference. Check back here for the latest schedule, or follow us on Twitter External link symbol for real-time notice of updates to the program.

We plan to have a firm program available no later than February 5, 2018.

Session D2: Medical Technologies

Start Time: 09:00, Thursday, May 10
Room: TBD
Chaired by William Barber, DxRay, Inc. (william.barber@dxray.com)

  • Thomas Webster, Northeastern University (th.webster@neu.edu)

    Design, Fabricating, and Commercializing In The Body Nano Sensors: The Future of Health

  • Soojin Lee, University of British Columbia (soojin.lee.e@gmail.com)

    Engineering Approaches to Non-invasive Electrical Stimulation of the Brain: Application to Parkinson’s Disease

  • Ferruccio Pisanello, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia (ferruccio.pisanello@iit.it)

    Micro and Nanotechnologies for Multipoint Control of Neural Activity in Deep Brain Regions

    The possibility to optically interface with the mammalian brain is allowing for unprecedented investigations of functional connectivity of neural circuitry. A new generation of optical neural interfaces is being developed, mainly thanks to the exploitation of micro and nanotechnologies. After reviewing recent advances in this framework, the presentation will focus on a new technology to obtain multisite optical control of neural activity in deep brain regions. It is based on modal demultiplexing properties of tapered optical fibers to adapt light delivery depth to the size of functional structures and to obtain spatial-resolved optogenetic control of neural activity in sub- cortical regions such as the striatum or the thalamus. Depending on the geometry of the volume of interest, the light-confinement properties of the tapered optical fiber can be engineered to obtain both site-selective or wide-volume light delivery, allowing for unprecedented flexibility in in vivo experiments on rodents. The simplicity of this technique, together with its versatility, reduced invasiveness and compatibility with both laser and LED sources, indicate this approach can greatly complement the set of existing tools for light delivery in optogenetic experiments.

  • Philip Butler, University of Canterbury (phil.butler@canterbury.ac.nz)

  • Bonnie Gray, Simon Fraser University (bgray@sfu.ca)

  • Kullervo Hynynen, University of Toronto (khynynen@sri.utoronto.ca)

  • Diego Mantovani, Université Laval (Diego.Mantovani@gmn.ulaval.ca)

  • Ross Walker, University of Utah (ross.walker@utah.edu)

 

Sponsorship Opportunities

Support from our sponsors allows us to provide additional special events and networking opportunities during our conferences.