Company Logo

Emerging Technologies 2018 Session Listing

The program is subject to change in the weeks leading up to the conference. Check back here for the latest schedule, or follow us on Twitter External link symbol for real-time notice of updates to the program.

We plan to have a firm program available no later than February 5, 2018.

Session E1: Advanced Materials

Start Time: 13:30, Wednesday, May 09
Room: TBD
Chaired by Chair to be Announced

  • Deji Akinwande, University of Texas (deji@ece.utexas.edu)

    Materials and electronic systems based on 2D atomic layers

  • Giuseppe Greco, National Research Council, Italy (giuseppe.greco@imm.cnr.it)

    2D materials integration with nitrides for high frequency applications

  • Federico Rosei, INRS (rosei@emt.inrs.ca)

    Multifunctional materials for electronics and photonics

  • Rehan Kapadia, University of Southern California (rkapadia@usc.edu)

    Compound semiconductors on anything

  • Antoine Fleurence, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (antoine@jaist.ac.jp)

    Epitaxial silicene on ZrB2(0001): a 2D allotrope of silicon

  • Byron Gates, Simon Fraser University (bgates@sfu.ca)

    Extending the strategies for modifying the surfaces of semiconductor materials and devices

    The interfaces of semiconducting materials and their oxides are integral to the design of fabrication routes for preparing freestanding semiconductor materials, such as components in microelectromechanical systems, or the preparation of interfaces for electronic devices that serve as electronic, mechanical or other types of chemical and biochemical sensors. A variety of strategies are used to modify the surfaces of these materials either during or following fabrication processes. The properties that are desired from these interfaces include tuning their ability to repel or retain water, to overcome stiction during fabrication processes or subsequent applications, to resist fouling from biochemical species, to tune the electronic and/or electrochemical properties of their interfaces, and to improve the durability of the underlying materials. A strategy for modifying these materials is introduced in this contribution that are enabling a new approach to tuning the properties and uses of semiconductor materials. These surface modifications are demonstrated for a variety of applications and surface chemistries.

  • COFFEE BREAK (FOYER)

    ***************************************

  • Toru Aoki, Shizuoka University (rtaoki@ipc.shizuoka.ac.jp)

  • Yvon Cordier, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (Yvon.Cordier@crhea.cnrs.fr)

  • Hasina Huq, University of Texas, Pan American (hhuq@utpa.edu)

  • Daniel J. Inman, University of Michigan (daninman@umich.edu)

  • Cengiz Ozkan, University of California, Riverside (cozkan@engr.ucr.edu)

  • Marco Rahm, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (marco.rahm@eit.uni-kl.de)

  • Leonid Rokhinson, Purdue University (leonid@purdue.edu)

  • Guangrui (Maggie) Xia, University of British Columbia (gxia@mail.ubc.ca)

 

Sponsorship Opportunities

Support from our sponsors allows us to provide additional special events and networking opportunities during our conferences.